Live Food is Loving Food

Friday, August 19, 2011

Our Little Universe

Okay, so I have not been so great at posting every day, but we HAVE been doing lots of learning!!

So I will admit, I was a little nervous about all this. Even though we had planned to homeschool years ago, we had kind of moved away from that plan since splitting up, and I will admit, I was a little excited about Aurora heading off to school this year. I was looking forward to some one on one time with Xavier, and even thinking about going back to school myself. Butttt due to circumstances beyond my control (red tape, paperwork nonsense), we didn't really have a better option. So homeschool it is.

My life is insane right now. I don't really feel like delving into the details, but I have a lot of personal issues, some health problems, just general LIFE stuff. I kept thinking "I can't even manage my own life, how am I supposed to take charge of my children's education." But here's the thing about me....when you give me a project, a passion, a crusade of some sort.....that's when I function best. It stops me from drifting, from wandering around aimlessly in my own head. I just need a PURPOSE, a specific PURPOSE, and then everything seems to fall into place.

I started reading a book that made me feel much more comfortable with the idea. "The First Year of Homeschooling Your Child". One of the things this book stresses is that there is no "one way" to homeschool. There isn't a RIGHT way, an only way. There is your way. You know your children best. You know how they learn. You know YOURSELF best. Many people go into homeschooling figuring they are going to just 'bring school home' and have a schedule, teach the same way schools do. And one of the things people realize their first year is that only works for a small percentage of people. I am not a scheduled person. I'm crazy, I'm all over the place, I'm erratic. But I LOVE to learn. If I try to change WHO I AM in order to do this, I am setting myself up to fail. Which I can't do, this is too important.

I have had to hear everyone tell me this is a bad idea. YOU can't teach your children! OMG! The thing is, people underestimate me. There is a huge difference in my "image"/the part I play for peers in different social/work groups and the person I am when I am at home with my kids reading books on the floor and talking about how long it takes the earth to go around the sun. I have been actively involved and directing their education since they were babies! Aurora knew her phonics when she was one! She could sign a billion words. She was starting to read and write when she was 3. Xavier, who is 3, is also reading. Between direct teaching, instilling in them a love of reading by reading to them often, and selective toy/dvd purchases, I believe I have raised some pretty smart kids so far. We will be fine. Maybe years from now we will decide homeschooling isn't for us, maybe we will go back and forth between schooling options. I don't have all the answers right now, I don't have a 5 year plan. 5 year plans are overrated. I have a today plan. Sometimes I don't even have that.

Sometimes you are just taking your kids for a walk with the dog and they want to know why we see the sun during the day and the moon at night. So you sit down on the sidewalk and use rocks and acorns and leaves and such to model the earth and the moon and then sun and talk about how the earth spins itself AND moves around the sun. (This happened a few days ago, lol) A few days before that, Aurora standing next to my bed coloring while I slept. I woke up and looked over and she had drawn a spaceship and the Earth. She had a ring around the Earth and I explained to her that the Earth doesn't have a ring. She wanted to know which planets had rings. So I went downstairs and grabbed some books on astronomy (purchased probably a year or so ago when she went through a phase where she was obsessed with the moon) and brought them up. We spent about an hour discussing different planets, and she drew them all. After she was done coloring them I had her look through the one book and match her pictures to theirs and label all her planets. Then she read all the names to me. We talked about how many rings the planets have and how long it takes the Earth to go around the sun (from one birthday to the next, hehe). She asked why we don't live on the other planets and we talked about oxygen and whether or not the other planets had solid ground, water, ideal temps, etc. We talked about the universe and how each solar system is like a family. Afterwards, she sat down with her brother and taught him what she had learned. Two nights ago we made a mobile and the kids have had fun pointing out the planets and their characteristics (they love Jupiter's red spot, lol)
  
    


So this whole interest in space led me to kind of decide to try out a 'unit studies' approach for homeschool. Starting with space of course. We will learn about space and we will kind of revolve our lessons around this theme. History-- learn about famous space expeditions, Science-- learn about the differences between gasses/solids/liquids, etc. Spelling/Reading--obviously just reading about the planets, spelling their names, etc. We've been counting the planets and their rings and their moons, and using them to do math. The Magic School Bus series has a DVD about space as well as 3 books that they've been looking at. Aurora and I just watched the dvd and it's pretty cute. She asked a lot of questions. We are kind of just winging it. :)

Also, we have been watching the Preschool Prep Co dvd series a lot, they love those. They used these dvds when they were younger to learn their letters and numbers. We've been watching the "Sight Words" a lot more, annnd they just came out with two new fabulous dvds, "Meet the Phonics". There is a digraph dvd and a blends dvd and they are both awesome. I asked Aurora if she had seen them yet (they arrived the day I went to work) and she said yes and excitedly told me about "ch" and the sound it makes and then rattled off a slew of words that had the "ch" sound in them. Munchkin Math is a dvd series we just got but to be honest I haven't really seen it. Hayley (their babysitter) quizzed them on it in front of me the other day though and they know which hand is the hour hand and which one is the minute hand. So I guess they can't be too bad. :)

I signed up for the more.starfall.com website for the year and they have enjoyed playing the games. I think I am also going to sign up for ixl.com, seems to be a very good website. I found this one also, which is free, and I signed up for it. http://www.progressivephonics.com.

I am working on turning Aurora's old room into a school room. More on that when I make more progress. :)

Xavier is an interesting child. Total opposite of Aurora. Aurora likes to show off what she knows. Xavier not so much.  Aurora loves to learn. She is a people pleaser. Loves to do 'school' stuff, and show off what she knows. Xavier is VERY smart. But likes to pretend he knows nothing. A few nights ago, before bed he was reading his book (I make them each read me one book at bedtime before I read bedtime stories) and was reading it perfectly (one of the BOB books). Well as soon as I pulled out my phone to take a picture and he saw me, it became "I don't know howwwww". I catch him counting in Spanish, or reading (not even just simple stuff, bigger words like "think" or "banana") but when I ask him to do it for me it becomes "I don't know how" and then the thumb in the mouth. lol. The next night we were playing a sight words game (POP for sight words) and the word he was supposed to say was "play". Well he pretended to think the word was "fish" but it was so obvious he was fucking around because he had this coy little devilish smile and was giggling. Finally he laughed and admitted it was "play". He absorbs so much I think just by being in the room with Aurora. He will sit by and pretend not to pay attention to a "lesson" of hers and then I will ask her a question and she will legitimately hesitate on the answer and if she takes too long he will pop off with the answer, but then looks "caught"....like "oh shit, she knows I know now" (he did this recently with "What is 3+1? and "Which planet is this?" --Saturn). My most recent theory is this: Maybe he's afraid to show that he knows some stuff because then he thinks I will expect more out of him and he won't be able to deliver. He doesn't like being wrong, doesn't like not having an answer to a question if I ask him one, it like debilitates him. I think it's like a subconscious defense or something. lol.

Aurora is writing an apology letter to my Dad for being rude to him the other day, so we need to finish that. Then we are using the misspelled words as spelling words. :P

Bye for now!!

<3 Kelli

Saturday, April 23, 2011

TAMARIND, GUAVA, PUMMELOS, OH MY!

I had the BEST day!!! Erin stayed over last night, and she woke me up at 10am after like 4 hours of sleep to go to the gym. Not exactly a standard move for me. I like the gym, don’t get me wrong, but actually getting up and GOING there has always been my problem. I do much better with a buddy, even if the headphones are on while I’m running and I’m ignoring them.  :)

First I feel I should update. So I’ve been raw for almost 6 weeks. I’ve lost 20 pounds (down to 127 from 147). With little to no exercise. I’m just so busy and really bad about making time for it. But that’s my new goal. :) After about week four I started allowing myself to eat the FoodForLife sprouted grain tortillas (no flour, no yeast, all sprouted grains, baked at low temperatures, but I am unsure if they are actually raw) just because I was getting a little bored with things due to my very on the go lifestyle. But while I feel FULL after eating them, I’m not sure I feel that wonderful, so I’ve been making it a more occasional thing. When I first started letting myself have them I was just tortillaing it up all day every day. Lol

Okay, back to my awesome day. The main point of that blurb was to mention that I am not much of a regular exerciser. Unless you count dancing around my kitchen in heels while I do dishes late at night. Yes, I am a dork. So today Erin wakes me up at 10. We get dressed, go to Wawa, I grab an orange for breakfast. We go to the hour long yoga class. It kicked my butt but I still think I did an awesome job! There was only like one pose I couldn’t do! After class ended I did a half an hour on the treadmill and Erin did the elliptical. Then we did weights and spent some time in the room with the exercise balls. By then we were done with the gym. Got in the car and inhaled a mango. After this we went to Staples. I printed some flyers for my raw food meetup group! (http://www.meetup.com/AtlanticCountyRawFoodies) Also printed some Rosetta Stone workbooks and tests for myself. Teaching myself Spanish. :) Well, Rosetta and SpeakInAWeek are anyway. Haha. I also got the kids some fun educational stuff and some organizational tools for me. My daughter got a pink stapler. She’s going to freak. She likes to make books all day long and she lost her stapler. Then we went tanning. Came home, showered, got dressed. Made myself some juice. Not so sure about this juice. It was fennel, beet, apple. I’m not a big fan of fennel. Or black licorice, which is what fennel tastes like. BUT I have heard that fennel is good for combating depression, which I was battling pretty severely before I started this raw food adventure. So I sucked it up and drank the juice. It is making my tummy make crazy noises. Hehe. Munched on a couple of cacao covered brazil nuts and some kind of berry. Goldenberries maybe? I’ll have to look. THEN. Here was one of the best parts of the day….It’s getting it’s own paragraph…

We went and explored the Asian supermarket. I have been venturing around to the little ethnic grocery stores lately in search of new and interesting produce. Mexican, Indian, and now Asian. The Mexican grocery store produced an amazing find, one of my new favorite snacks, TAMARIND. Tastes like a sour warhead candy. They are kind of a pain in the you know what to eat, but SO tasty!! We went there today actually before the Asian market to get some more. There was a funny situation there. I had some kind of cactus leaf, and wanted to know if I could eat it raw, but nobody had any idea what I was asking and they didn’t know enough English or I enough Spanish to effectively communicate my question. The guy told me it was not to eat today, it was to cook for tomorrow. Or something. Hahaha THEN some customer in line nodded yes when I asked if it would be poisonous to eat it raw. So I put it back. For now. I will find out for sure eventually. Oh gooooooogle…… :)  So we made our way to the Asian supermarket and ohmygoodness was I in LOVE with the produce section. SOOO many unfamiliar things!!! I just realized I never did find what I went there for, which was a Durian, but then again I didn’t ask anyone, so who knows, they could be there. I did however, find GUAVA!!!! Anyone that is friends with me on FB knows I have been hunting unsuccessfully for guava for like months. So this was extra special for me. I bought a pummelo. Whatever that is. Winter melon? Who knows, but I got some! I took pictures of the signs for a million things to look up on wikipedia later.  :) Such a fun day so far. I came home and danced around the kitchen some more. Took a video just so that I could watch it and have a good laugh. hahaha

WELL, I have a million things to do. I have lots of pictures I have taken that I will upload soon, I promise. :) Maybe later tonight I will google all my crazy produce and upload pics.  :)

Much love, Kelli. <3

Thursday, April 21, 2011

I know, I'm a slacker...but this should make up for it.

SO, I have been told that I need to update more. Which is 100% true. I am going to make it a goal to update at least once a week. I would write a post now, but I'm sleepy. So I will just leave you with this amazingness. Are you ready?

My friend Eva is running a raw food bed and breakfast for the month of May in beautiful Martha's Vineyard. Right now, for a very short time (I think less than 24 hours) she is running a giveaway to win a free stay there for the first WHOLE WEEK! How fanfreakingtastic is that, seriously? And if you don't hop on over in time for the giveaway she is still running amazing specials for the beginning of the month to fill up the last few spots (I believe most of the month is sold out already). Head on over and check it out!!

RAW BED AND BREAKFAST RETREAT GIVEAWAY

<3
Kelli

Saturday, March 26, 2011

"Normal"

So earlier as I was washing dishes I started to come up with a mental list of things that have changed since I went raw. Way more energy, no depression, focus, weight loss, improved immune system (I had a terrible sore throat one night and it was just *POOF* gone the next morning), and most of all....one of the major reasons I started this in the first place.... was that my hands didn't hurt like they used to. The first thought that went through my head was that I can move them when I wake up, which is AMAZING. Before, it would take me a long time to be able to even wiggle a finger. I couldn't make a fist, which I can now do.

Of course that didn't happen overnight, it's been about a week and a half. The first couple of days they were LESS stiff, but still a little hard to move. I was thinking about that and this is how the sentence happened in my head....

"Well they were still kind of stiff for a few days but that's normal for me."

and then I thought about that.

NORMAL?!?!

Not being able to move your hands in the morning should never be considered normal.

How sad is it that everyday, all across the world, people have headaches and body aches and digestive issues and a myriad of other ailments and just chalk it up to being "normal" for them. Most of them do not even realize the correlation between how they feel and what they are putting in their bodies. When you eat bad you are going to feel bad, plain and simple. When you eat food that is full of life, you will feel the same.

For me that has been kind of key to this being the time that I went raw that it just "clicked'. I am fairly in tune with my body and I could FEEL the difference in how I felt when I ate certain things. When that kind of thing happens you start to look at food almost as a poison. I used to eat things knowing that when I woke up the next day I would feel like someone dipped my hands in cement. Food should be your fuel. I remembered how amazing I felt when I went raw before and it just made sense. Why wouldn't I want to feel that good?? I had even set a "start" date of April 1st so that I could indulge in all my favorite foods one last time, and then woke up one day with hurty hands one day and said "Enough is enough. No more. I don't want to wait to feel good, I want to feel good NOW."

I never did understand those "Get Well Soon" balloons...
I always thought they should say "Get Well NOW!!"

Friday, March 25, 2011

Free


I was trying to figure out how to describe how I have felt since I started eating raw foods...and then I discovered the Beatles had figured it out for me. :)


"Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

Black bird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free"